General NewsGovernment and PoliticsLatest

‘We Have Won’ – Video Of How Bagbin Announced His Win In A Phone Call Drops [Video]

The moment elected 8th parliament speaker, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin was in a phone call announcing his victory at the 7th dissolution of parliament and inauguration of the 8th parliament.

“We have won but they haven’t announced the results yet but ones the documents are in the hands of Muntaka”, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin said in the video.

Also, the NDC MPs could be be heard shouting and rejoicing after Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin was in the upper hand of being declared the speaker of parliament.

Watch the video below:

Former Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency and Second Deputy Speaker of the 7th Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, has been elected Speaker for the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

It had been a marathon of confusion on the floor of Parliament right from the dissolution of the 7th Parliament through to the election of a new speaker for the 8th Parliament.

An election process, which started moments after 12:00am January 7, ran through the dawn to about 6:00am.

The provisional results suggest that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) side of the House beat the New Patriotic Party (NPP) side with three votes to put Mr. Bagbin ahead of the immediate past Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, who was re-nominated by the NPP caucus.

Bagbin is a member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and had represented the Nadowli Kaleo Constituency in the Upper West Region in Parliament seven consecutive times.

He did not contest last year’s elections.

Also, information gathered by suggests that the Fomena MP Andrews Amoako Asiamah will be one of the deputy speaker of Parliament thus second deputy speaker of Parliament.

Please send us your articles for publication via


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button