General NewsGovernment and PoliticsLatest

NDC picks Bagbin for Speaker of Eighth Parliament

The opposition National Democratic Congress(NDC) has selected outgoing Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo MP, Alban Bagbin as its Speaker of the Eighth Parliament.

The move comes a day after the ruling NPP also retained incumbent Speaker Aaron Mike Ocquaye as its Speaker.

Following The NDC’s Functional Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday, the party agreed to maintain the current leadership in Parliament – Haruna Iddrisu as Minority Leader, James Avedzi as Deputy Minority Leader, Asawase MP Muntaka Mubarak as Chief Whip, Banda MP, Ahmed Ibrahim and Ada MP, Comfort Doeyo Cudjoe as deputy whips.

Both the NPP and NDC have 137 MPs and one independent candidate choosing to do business with the NPP.

As it stands now, both parties will present their candidates for the Speakership position for voting to decide who emerges the winner.

General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Boadu says the National Democratic Congress (NDC) might lose its Deputy Speakership slot if they do not cooperate.

Interacting with the press after the party’s Executive Council meeting on Monday, Mr Boadu noted although the difference between the NPP and NDC in parliament is very slim, the opposition should not put up what he described as a needless contest for the main and first Deputy Speaker positions.

In his view, the NPP will unanimously vote to acquire the First Speaker and first Deputy Speaker slots and leave the NDC with the second Deputy Speaker position.

He stressed, however, that should the NDC put up a challenge, the only independent candidate of the next Parliament who has chosen to sit with the NPP will be nominated.


Please send us your articles for publication via


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button