John Boye, Harrison Afful, Baba Rahman and Wakaso back in Black Stars squad ahead of AFCON 2021 qualifiers [Full List]

Black Stars coach C. K Akonnor has given a call-up to the likes of Harrison Afful, John Boye, Baba Rahman, Mubarak Wakaso and Jeffery Schlupp ahead of the double AFCON header against Sudan next month.

This is the third call-up the coach has made and this time around has decided to give another chance to these experienced players based on their current output at their respective clubs.

Seven (7) players have been dropped from the list of players who were called for the two friendly matches against Mali and Qatar in Turkey some three weeks ago.

Among the players dropped are Lumor Agbenyenu (Sporting Club – Portugal), Yakubu Mohammed (Azam FC – Tanzania), Kasim Nuhu (Fortuna Düsseldorf  – Germany), Bernard Mensah (Besiktas – Turkey), Kudus Mohammed (Ajax Amsterdam – The Netherlands), Kamal Deen (FC Nordsjælland), and Eugene Ansah (Ironi Kiryat Shmona – Israel).

Ajax sensation, Kudus Mohammed, who scored against South Africa in Ghana’s first qualifier, has been left out of the squad after sustaining an injury against Liverpool in the Champions League.

Ghana will, on Thursday, November 12, 2020, take on the North-East Africans in the first of a double-header at the Cape Coast stadium, before travelling to Khartoum, five days later for the reverse fixture.

Akonnor will be looking to continue the team’s flying start to the qualifiers following victories against South Africa and São Tomé and Príncipe in November 2019.

The victories put Ghana on top of Group C with 6 points.


Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates – South Africa)

Razak Abalora (Kumasi Asante Kotoko- Ghana)

Richard Ati Zigi (St. Gallen – Switzerland)


Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg – France)

Nicholas Opoku (Amiens – France)

John Boye (FC Metz – France)

Benson Anang (MSK Zilina – Slovenia)

Baba Rahman (Chelsea FC – England)

Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew – USA)

Joseph Aidoo (Celta de Vigo – Spain)

Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes)


Baba Iddrisu (RCD Mallorca – Spain)

Thomas Partey (Atlético Madrid – Spain)

Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Sunning – China)

Emmanuel Lomotey  (Amiens – France)


Samuel Owusu (Al-Ahli Jeddah – Saudi Arabia)

Andre Ayew (Swansea City – England)

John Antwi  (Pyramid FC – Egypt)

Jeffery Schlupp (Crystal Palace – England)

Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace – England)

Jamie Lewelling (Greuther Fürth – Germany)

Tariq Fosu (Brentford – England)

Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor – Turkey)



Please send us your articles for publication via editor@reportghana.com


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button