Government and PoliticsHot NewsLatest

Here are 5 ‘most vocal’and Experienced MPs in 2019 who lost their seats’s political desk followed keenly the work of Members of Parliament and brought you the top 10 most vocal MPs in April.

Here, your informative website has compiled a list of those vocal MPs who lost their seat in last Saturday’s NPP parliamentary primaries and the National Democratic Congress(NDC) primaries in August last year.

The following will not be representing their constituent in the next parliament.

1.Ben Abdallah Banda – NPP MP for Offinso South

The NPP MP spoke 848 times in 2019 and delivered two statements in Parliament.

The high frequency of his contributions can be generally attributed to his position as chairperson of Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs (CLPA)Committee.  He is also the chairperson of the Judicial Committee.

But Abdallah Banda lost his seat to his opponent Isaac Yaw Opoku, he lost by 307.

2. Mark Assibey-Yeboah – NPP MP for New Juaben South

Dr Assibey-Yeboah has been in Parliament since 2013, after previously working at GIMPA and the Bank of Ghana.

He is the chairman of the Finance Committee; he was in the thick of affairs moving and second motions on the floor.

Assibey-Yeboah lost to Michael Okyere Baafi, he lost by 172.

3. Frederick Opare-Ansah – NPP for Suhum

He chaired the Communication Committee in parliament; he was also a member of the Finance committee.

Opare Ansah has been in Parliament since 2004.

He lost by 122 votes to Kwadwo Asante.

4. William Quaittoo Agyapong – NPP MP for Akim Oda

He is the chairperson of the Education Committee of Parliament. He lost by 46 votes to Alexander Akwasi Acquah.



5. Joseph Yieleh Chireh – NDC MP for Wa West

The Pharmacist has been in Parliament since 2005 and is a member of three committees. The former minister under the Mahama administration found a lot of time for Parliament in 2019, but he lost the primaries to Executive Secretary to the former Inspector General of Police, Peter Lanchene Tuubo.

He lost by 438 votes.

The following vocal MPs got the nod to represent their party in the 2020 general elections.

6. Alexander Afenyo- Markin –  NPP MP for Effutu

He went unopposed.

7. Bernard Ahiafor – NDC MP for Akatsi South

He won massively in his constituency.

8. Kwame Governs Agbodza – NDC MP for Adaklu

He won the nod to represent his party.

He has been in parliament since 2012.

9. Alhassan Bashir A. Fuseini – NDC MP for Sagnarigu

The former Night Editor at Graphic Communications Group is representing the NDC in the 2020 general elections.

10. Anthony Osei Akoto – NPP MP for Old Tafo

The Howard university-trained economist doubles as the Minister of State for Monitoring and Evaluation.

He has been in Parliament since 2005.

He did not contest the 2020 primaries.

Please send us your articles for publication via


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *