Entertainment NewsGeneral NewsHot NewsLatestSports

Final 10-man shortlist for African Player Of The Year 2019

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the 10 final nominees for the 2019 African Player of the Year award.

Not even a single Ghanaian player made the 10-man shortlist.

The people who made the list are Nigeria’s Ighalo, who plays as a striker for Chinese club Shanghai Greenland Shenhua, Cameroon’s Andre Onana, A, Morocco’s Hakim Zach, Algeria’s Ismail Ben Nacer, Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Algeria’s Riad Mehrez and Youcef Beliali, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Kalidou Koulibaly with previous winner, Mohammed Salah of Egypt.

 Odion Ighalo makes final 10-man shortlist for African Player Of The Year

The shortlist of nominees was decided upon by votes from a CAF Technical & Development Committee and a panel of media experts with an emphasis on the nominees’ performance during the year under review, 2019.

The winner will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt.

Salah won the African Player of the Year award two times in 2018 and 2017. But his Liverpool teammate and Senegalese superstar, Sadio Mane is favourite to win the award next year.

Please send us your articles for publication via editor@reportghana.com


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *