General NewsGovernment and PoliticsHot NewsLatest

2020 polls: We’ll declare our own results – Minority

The Minority in Parliament says it will declare its own results in the 2020 general elections should the Electoral Commission (EC) go ahead to compile a new voters’ register.

‘Isn’t it the same voters’ register that made Akufo-Addo the President? Why are they saying the register is outdated? Should we then question the legitimacy of President  Akufo Addo?… We’re committed to peaceful elections, but we will not accept the fraudulent results.

“Don’t take the NDC for granted this time. If they like, they should declare results, we’ll also declare ours simultaneously,’ the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrissu said.

The National Democratic Congress  MP for Sagnarigu, A.B.A Fuseini, supported the position of his leader in Parliament.

Several political parties have come together to form the Inter-party Resistance Against New Voters Register.

The coalition of political parties has embarked on a series of regional demonstrations, the latest being in the Greater Accra region to pile pressure on the EC to rescind its decision to compile a new register.

They have vehemently opposed the EC’s decision to compile new voters register ahead of this year’s general election arguing it is a waste of the tax payers’ money.

About 18 Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) also rejected the EC’s justification for a new register.

Despite these concerns, the EC has gone ahead to set a date to start the new registration.

Meanwhile, the Deputy General Secretary of the governing NPP, Nana Obiri Boahen, has told the opposition NDC to stop disturbing.

“They can boycott the elections. It’s their right. They should stop disturbing our ears. Members of Parliament shouldn’t be talking like this. They should talk like they are members of an August house,” he said in an interview on Starr FM.

Please send us your articles for publication via


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button