General NewsGovernment and PoliticsLatest

Actual Reason Why Alban Bagbin Refused To Stand As MP for 2020

In the lead up to the 2020 general elections, Hon. Alban Bagbin, the veteran Parliamentarian, announced his intention not to contest the Nadowli West Constituency in the Upper West Region.

This came as a shock to many political pundits and Ghanaians especially, the people of Nadowli West Constituency he represents. Being one of the longest-serving parliamentarian, the people of Nadowli really got disappointed at the fact that, a quality parliamentarian such as Bagbin will not be representing them anymore.

Alban, it will be recalled won the 1992 parliamentary elections to represent the people of Nadowli under Ghana’s first constitutional rule. He had ever since been the member of parliament for the Nadowli Constituency until 2020.

Bagbin in 2008 also announced his intentions to run for the presidency on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress(NDC) but refused to contest in the NDC’s primaries.

Whiles in parliament, he became the Majority leader in 2009 and following a cabinet reshuffle in 2010, he was appointed Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing by late President Mills.

He was also the Majority Leader of Parliament under President Mahama’s tenure of office, he succeeded Benjamin Kumbour, who was appointed as the Minister of Defense And before the 7th parliament was dissolve, he also served as the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament from January 2017 to January 2021.

Interestingly, Alban Bagbin contested the Speaker of Parliament position and beats the incumbent, Mike Oquaye to lead the 8th parliament. After winning the speakership position, many Ghanaians begin to wonder if that was the reason why he refused to contest the Nadowli seat in the 2020 general election.


This is because, the constitution made it clear that, the speaker of parliament cannot be a Member of Parliament though he/she must possess the qualifications to stand for elections as a Member of Parliament. The Speaker must also be assisted by two Deputy Speakers (First and Second Deputy Speakers), who are elected at the commencement of every Parliament, and they must come from different political parties.

It was however, revealed that, the former Nadowli heavyweight Member of Parliament and the current Speaker of Parliament refused to contest the Nadowli seat because of his intentions to contest the presidency in the 2024 general election.

It will be recalled that, the veteran parliamentarian, ahead of the 2020 general elections, he contested the presidential primaries with likes of Spio Garbrah, Gooshi Tanoh, Sylvester Mensah, Professor Alabi and others but were all beaten by John Dramani Mahama.


Alban Bagbin’s intention not to contest the Nadowli seat was to allow him enough space to adequately prepare for the primaries and subsequently contest in the general election as NDC’s Flagbearer when he wins the primaries.

Please send us your articles for publication via


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button